S-V-A-C Is Back

SVAC returns on January 12th with a program featuring Valley League Baseball -Past Present and Future with host, Curt Dudley and a panel of VLB coaching legends and more! There will be a memoriam for Carlyle Whitelow by Phil Stone Sr. 
Thank you all for your continued support of the Shenandoah Valley Athletic Club. Your membership and attendance is important and appreciated. SVAC has a great heritage dating back to 2002!
Interest in athletics is the only requirement


Pay Online Dues and Dinner Fees Click Here
Or, pay at  PO Box 738, Harrisonburg, VA. 22803-0738

  • Dinner is $21 for members in advance (+1 fee if online) and $24 at the door for members and for guests.
  • Dues for a couple are $70 (+$3 fee if online)
  • Dues for an individual are $40 (+$2 fee if online)

    or download these forms, print and mail with your check
    SVAC Mail-in Membership form

 Join us for our next meeting with a new edition of Who Am I,  presented by VP Steve Walk; and our 50-50 Raffle will be back with a great cash prize.  

Program  :  

5:45 pm Reception/Social (Cash Bar Available)
6:30 pm Welcome
Pledge of Allegiance
“Who Am I” segment to get to know our members
6:35 pm:  Honor Roll Induction with Jim Upperman

6:45 pm Buffet Dinner
7:35 pm Introduction of Tonight’s Speaker(s)
7:45pm Featured Speaker(s)
8:15pm Questions from membership
8:30 pm Adjournment

Location remains at Early’s Katering 2061 Evelyn Byrd Ave, Harrisonburg
(The Terrace At Rocktown)|
Upcoming meetings:

October 15th- The Basketball Meeting  JMU, BC, and EMU Basketball with the coaches of both the men’s and women’s teams in separate panels with host, Dave King – AD at EMU.

The SVAC brings people together from throughout the Shenandoah Valley who share a common interest in scholastic, intercollegiate, and professional sports. Dinner meetings are held each month with the date varying depending on the availability of the guest speaker for the month.

Pictures from Frank Beamer’s visit – November 15, 2017

Lexie (BC), Endia (MBU), and Lauren (JMU) at the October 2021 SVAC meeting.

The Shenandoah Valley Athletic Club recognizes the lifetime athletic achievements of its members by inductions to the SVAC Honor Roll.  We have honored 29 members onto the Honor Roll since the Club’s inception in 2002, paying tribute to our local sports heroes.
Allan Andrick Dean Ehlers
Jack Arbogast Donnie Fulk
Jim Barnes Cecil Gilkerson
Jim Benson Joseph G. Myers II
Roger Bergey Dave King
Roy Billhimer Bill Lam
Bobby Brown Bill Loomis
Ron Carrier Challice McMillan
Mike Clark Larry Pence
Bob Colbert Fred B. Pence
Buddy Comer Bill Phipps
Chick Crawford Mike Ruckman
Doc Deputy Mike Schikman
Curt Dudley Earl Shirkey
Jean Willi Sid Smith

Jim Ellis


Honor Roll Plaque

While there is no restriction,
the membership will generally
induct two members annually.

Nominations will be reviewed by the
Executive Committee for a final decision.

Jim Ellis (right) inducted into the SVAC Honor Roll at the October meeting by another BC Hall of Fame member, Jim Upperman


                                                                        SVAC Presidents

From left to right:  Past presidents Allen Andrick, Chip McIntyre, charter president Jim Benson, Bob Colbert and Chick Crawford. Not present Dave King and Brad Chewning


Presenting the 2021-2021 Board of Directors

Phil Updike-President 2019-2022
Steve Walk- Vice-President
Margee Greenfield – Secretary
 Maxine Magri, CPA   
Kathy Armentrout- Director 
Johnny Garber -Director 
Les Helmuth -Director 
John Mauzy -Director 
Jean Willi – Director  2022
Earl Cox -Director 
Marilyn Jarrells – Director 
Wade Robinson – Director 


Jim Benson (Charter) 2002-2004
Bob Colbert 2004-2006
Chip McIntyre 2006-2008
Brad Chewning 2008-2010
Chick Crawford 2010-2012
David King 2012-2014
Allen Andrick 2014-2017
Steve Smith 2017-2019